Artzenflowers’s Blog

Light is Everything!

Posted on: January 10, 2009

As often as I repeat the phrase its become a virtual mantra to me; Without light we would not even percieve color, its all about the light!
In an effort to sort things out with indoor light sources my associate, Jane Freiman, color consultant and editor of Atticmag has put together the following resource guide, rather then try to one up her info gathering I requested her approval to share, I hope it is of help to you all.

“Making Sense of Light Bulb Color”
by Jane Freiman

A few days ago I changed an incandescent light bulb to a compact fluorescent in a warm yellow room. Yes, the paint color is highly mutable. But then, so is the light bulb color.
Since we cannot escape the changes coming to lighting, I am embracing them! Oy.

Here’s an account of Jane’s initial experience; perhaps we can get a discussion going on this. 

AtticMag.com

2 Responses to "Light is Everything!"

What a great sight!! I love Deep Reds and Chocolate browns… seems it doesn’t matter what kind of light I’m having, they look great. I just recovered my old couch in chocolate brown,, so lovely! My dinning chairs got a fresh coat of deep red and I mix and match the two colors through out my home..I also love pale green like sea foam..but find lighting does make a huge difference. Once I painted my living room what was suppose to be sea foam green and it looked mint green…after a good cry
( and my husbands snickers) I repainted a nuetral taupe. Guess I lost me nerves HA. Some time later I painted my whole bathroom a deep red with taupe trim, now that was bold, loved it!! Now I just keep it nuetral and add lots of color with pillows drapes and other changable items..it fun to change things around, keep things fresh..by the way the new look with dark browns is Pale blue. Looks great, but I still like my reds!!

What a great sight!! I love Deep Reds and Chocolate browns… seems it doesn’t matter what kind of light I’m having, they look great. I just recovered my old couch in chocolate brown,, so lovely! My dinning chairs got a fresh coat of deep red and I mix and match the two colors through out my home..I usually just keep it nuetral and add lots of color with pillows drapes and other changable items..it fun to change things around, keep things fresh..by the way the new look with dark browns is Pale blue. Looks great, but I still like my reds!!

Leave a Reply

  • artzenflowers: Hi Loribeth, Thank you for taking the time to view my post and the feed back noted!
  • Loribeth: Interesting info about red. I think it takes a lot of daring to use it in decor...something I don't have a lot of. But I might consider adding little
  • Emmakins: This is so helpful, THANK YOU! I think I will do pashmina in bedroom since it is a cooler color and may not work as well in the main area. Hush throu
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

